Running free

Come on, there's running to be done!

Come on, there’s running to be done!

Do you know how lucky you are to get out and about and be able to run?

What do you mean, lucky?

There are other dogs out there who never get to see outside their garden.

No! You can’t be serious!

Afraid so. Last week I was driving around the area by the race course and I saw the silhouette of a dog under a tree. A Ridgeback.

You went to investigate?

Of course I did. She was young, about 6 months old and very sweet.

What! You didn’t bring me a girlfriend?

I did try. She came over to me and licked my face but wouldn’t get in the pickup. She didn’t even have a collar on so I’m pretty sure she’d never been out of her garden. She didn’t like it when I tried to put a lead on her either.

But you took a photo?

No, she wouldn’t keep still. I think she was just so excited to see there’s a whole world outside her garden. Eventually someone came along who knew where she came from and phoned the house and the gardener came to collect her. She didn’t like him very much but went running back down the road when the cook called.

So what else did you do?

I called VAWZ who said they’d pay the house a visit and I did offer to foster her if they decided she was too much energy to handle.

Oh yes, I’d like to run with someone who has more energy than Kharma.

Thanks Zak, I do pretty well for someone of my age!

That’s so sad. We ridgebacks need to run!

And explore and be socialized.

Did you find out her name?

Yes, it’s Rosie.

Leave a Reply

